Interview: Harlequin Author Katie Meyer

http://michelleguzman.com/

Today I welcome fellow Hearts on Paper: Writers Supporting Writers member Katie Meyer!

1. Tell me a bit about yourself.

Well, I’m a Florida girl, so if you ever run into me I’ll probably be in shorts and a t-shirt, no matter what time of year it is. What else…oh, I’m an animal lover. I actually worked in veterinary clinics for about twenty years, starting when I was just out of high school, and some of my best friends are still in that field. I also had my own dog training business for a while, which was a ton of fun. Sometimes I miss it, but I am plenty busy—I’m homeschooling my three children, and of course, there’s my writing.

In true confessions, I only really started writing a little over a year ago, and had never actually finished a novel before Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest. I thought writing was something other, smarter, more talented people did. I have always been a reader though, and grew up with a nose constantly in a book. I even used to read while riding my bike home from school!

3. What project are you most excited about right now?

I’m really excited about my current work in progress, the third book in the Paradise Animal Clinic series. Mollie, the main character, is really spunky and that makes her a blast to write. And the premise is kind of unusual, Noah, the hero of the story, is on a solo honeymoon after his fiancé ditched him. He drowns his sorrows on the plane to Florida and lets just say he’s a bit unsteady on his feet when he meets Mollie for the first time. I actually got the idea one day when I was driving in the car and Dierks Bentley’s song, “Drunk on a Plane” came on. In fact, I’m pretty sure there is at least one novel waiting to be written in most country songs.

4. Which authors are you currently hooked on? Any recommendations.

Oh goodness! I do tend to binge read, mostly romantic suspense. I’d say some favorite authors in that genre are Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, and Lisa Jackson. I also recently started reading Toni Anderson, and her stuff is great too. For slightly less scary stuff I’m in love with Rosalind Jame’s Kincaid family books, as well as the newer one set in Paradise, Iowa. Catherine Anderson is an old favorite, I like the family bonds shown in her books. As for Harlequin authors, Regina Kyle and Jesse Hayworth keep me coming back for more.

5. If one of your books could be made into a movie, which one? And why?

That’s a tough one. The Puppy Proposal has a lot of gorgeous scenery, and Murphy the mischievous border collie would be fun to see onscreen. But, on the other hand A Valentine for the Veterinarian (expected release date in Feb. 2016) might be even better. It has a smart but vulnerable heroine, a cute kid, a heroic dog, and a very sexy cop. Then there is my current project, with a lot of funny situations that would be great on film. Maybe it can be a trilogy?

*Sounds like a nice romance trilogy, Hollywood should look into that! Thank you for stopping by Katie*

cover

Buy link:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0373659180?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creativeASIN=0373659180&linkCode=xm2&tag=katiemeyernet-20

Where you can find Katie:
http://www.katiemeyer.net
@Ktgrok
Www.facebook.com/katiemeyerbook

Leave a Reply

