#NewRelease Rhoda Baxter ‘Please Release Me’: Stuck Between Excitement & Apprehension

I’m taking part in a themed blog post celebrating Rhoda Baxter’s new release Please Release Me. The theme center on being or feeling ‘stuck’ in some way or other. As I signed up to do the blog splash I wondered what I could write for the post…then the following happened *smile*

On Tuesday late in the afternoon I received an email from The Romance Reviews saying my book Dance of Love qualified for the next and final round of their TRR Readers’ Choice Awards-Winter 2015. I had submitted DoL when I added my books to the site and updated my profile.

The site is very prominent in the online romance writing community, so I didn’t really think I’d qualify for the nomination round. But I did. And when I did, I didn’t know what to do with my emotions or rather lack thereof.
In the back of my mind I realized this may not be a Nobel Prize nomination but it was a good thing to make it to the Nomination Rounds. I should be pleased. Maybe not do cartwheels yet, but at least a heart thump or two.

Instead my stomach turned, my arms felt heavy and for the life of me I couldn’t get back into my work. One of the owners and coordinators at my publisher (Decadent Publishing) also emailed me right after TRR did and congratulated me, also said they will be helping to get the word out for the Nominations Round. I was happy, I wasn’t alone. My publisher’s going to help with promo. Still I found myself stuck. Unable to move.

I had tagged my cousin on the ‘good news update’ post on Facebook and she texted me her congratulations. And my response was lukewarm. She wanted me to ‘bounce off the walls’. To enjoy qualifying. To embrace the moment. And I tried. I had realized how ungrateful my response might have come across to her.

But here’s the thing, I’m not good at popularity contests *smile* Oh not such a big surprise? *grin* Honestly, I’m not. And I’m also not a big fan of them. I think the first time I realized how much I disliked it was when I started to receive awards at school in grade seven because I was considered to be one of the well-known kids at school. Stuff like that really makes you question how good you are at something.

I love the saying; cream always rises to the top. Even if no one considers you to be anything ‘special’ because you don’t have the popular vote, you can rely on the quality, technique, spirit and time, you put into what you do. You know hard work eventually pays off. In life we’ve learned that principal. The more you put in, the more you get out.

When everyone stops writing, you keep on until you’ve typed The End. When everyone else loses hope during the query process. You submit your pitch and book again. You edit, rewrite, revise, and submit, again and again. You read up, educate yourself, you join groups, you network, learn from the people around you, you don’t give up on yourself or the dream of being an author. You’ve committed yourself. And Thank God, these industry people do care about the work because you’re growing and learning with each book you write.

Uh…until…you qualify to the next and final Nominations Round and you need 50 nominations to get to the final.

Stuck.

Stuck between wanting to yell and say, “Wow! How did that happen? I qualified!” And, “Okay, so nothing to get too excited about because there’s 50 nominations standing between you and the final round,” which is a sober way of looking at things, not necessarily bad or negative. It does however, have you stuck between excitement and apprehension. Wanting to celebrate this milestone, albeit small, and also to not get too enthusiastic because you might not make it *cringe*

So in a bid to help myself move on from feeling stuck, I’m going to ask that you nominate Dance of Love as your Readers’ Choice Award for Winter 2015 at The Romance Reviews (http://www.theromancereviews.com/viewbooks.php?bookid=18615). The Nomination Round is open from Sept 11th until the 30th. So two weeks of nonstop voting! Thank you in advance for your support and for moving me to a place that’s less emotionally stuck *smile*

PLEASE RELEASE ME_high res mini

 

Blurb:

What if you could only watch as your bright future slipped away from you?

Sally Cummings has had it tougher than most but, if nothing else, it’s taught her to grab opportunity with both hands. And, when she stands looking into the eyes of her new husband Peter on her perfect wedding day, it seems her life is finally on the up.

That is until the car crash that puts her in a coma and throws her entire future into question.

In the following months, a small part of Sally’s consciousness begins to return, allowing her to listen in on the world around her – although she has no way to communicate.

But Sally was never going to let a little thing like a coma get in the way of her happily ever after …

Buy link: myBook.to/PleaseReleaseMe

4 thoughts on “#NewRelease Rhoda Baxter ‘Please Release Me’: Stuck Between Excitement & Apprehension

  1. I know exactly what you mean. Congratulations on the shortlisting and good luck for the nominations. I’ve bookmarked to check back tomorrow when voting opens.
    Thank you for sharing the news of Please Release Me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

