Interview: Author Leela Atherton

Pleased welcome Leela on Inside These Lines today 🙂

 

Tell me a bit about yourself?

As a teenager growing up in Johannesburg, I was addicted to Mills & Boon romances – Anne Mather being my favourite author – she rocked my youthful little world! Later on, while living in London, I began reading and writing Modern Romances, but all those rejections eventually took their toll and I stopped writing and concentrated on my career as a youth counsellor. When the Twilight series, and Fifty Shades of Grey, finally revealed to the world, the fact that women wanted to read romance, loved romantic fiction, I began writing again, in my spare time.

*I’m mad about the Twilight series myself. Sparkling vampires? Who can resist?* *smile*

What inspires you to write?
Difficult question. Passion, I guess, Also, I have a bad habit of starting a story, publishing the first few chapters on smashwords.com for free and then having readers contacting me and asking; when are you going to finish this story? I need to know what happens next! So I am obviously obliged to complete these stories, or I’ll disappoint my readers. And I hate letting people down.

What project are you most excited about right now?
Passion & Denial, Book Two in the Passion Trilogy, which I’m in the process of editing right now. Book One: Passion & Deceit was published in ebook and paperback last year, October. I’m hoping to complete the editing of Book Two: Passion & Denial, by Oct/Nov so that it can be published before the end of this year.

Which authors are you currently hooked on? Any recommendations?
I haven’t had much time to read lately, so am a bit out of touch. I enjoy Lynn Graham, a Mills & Boon Modern Romance writer, as well as Julia James and Caitlin Crews, also M&B writers. I enjoyed Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight Saga, but the first book of the series (and the first film) was, by far, my favourite. I loved the Fifty Shades Trilogy and look forward to reading her latest novel, ‘Grey’, although I did find the film to be a disappointment.

*Okay, confession time. I’m a Twi-hard, as in I-can-quote-the-movies-and-books kind of fan. And I have to say, I’m also mad about the first movie, though book-Bella’s a bit tame for me. I like Kirsten’s interpretation of her more.*

If one of your books could be made into a movie, which one? And why?
Passion & Deceit, without a doubt, would be my choice for a Bollywood movie. My hero, Rajiv, is Anglo-Indian, so I can picture him and my heroine, Maya, dancing, singing, and falling in love, in full-on Bollywood style.

Passion & Deceit

Blurb

She wants him, but she knows he’s going to marry someone else…
When Maya Stewart arrives in London to visit her best friend Jay, she’s aware that he’s keeping the fact that he’s gay a secret from his traditional Indian family. However, deceiving his dangerously good-looking older brother, Rajiv, is something Maya hadn’t expected to deal with. The attraction between her and Rajiv is intense and immediate. But after being warned by Jay of Rajiv’s reputation as a player and womaniser, Maya tries her utmost to keep her distance from him—although Rajiv doesn’t give up easily.
He wants her, but he’s sure that she’s his brother’s lover…
Rajiv Maddox has demons of his own to battle, including a darker side to his tortured soul. Highly suspicious of Maya, he thinks that she could be the reason for Jay’s suicidal depression, yet Rajiv can’t deny his attraction to this beautiful flame-haired Scottish girl. But one thing he knows for sure—if she finds out what a monster he really is, she’ll run fast and hard in the other direction.
Can two people from two different cultures and such dissimilar worlds find any common ground or has fate doomed their love from the beginning?

You can contact Leela here:

http://amazon.com/author/leelaatherton

http://www.mshardcoreromance.com

http://www.facebook.com/leelaatherton

Leave a Reply

