Inside These Lines welcomes Author Leenna Naidoo

m_Leenna Everyday

1. Tell me a bit about yourself.

The writer in me dabbles in a little bit of most things: romance, suspense, sci-fi, fantasy, and everything in between. In the real world, I dabble in design, teaching and, occasionally, baking for very special people.

2. What inspires you to write?

Places, people, imagined incidents…anything really:-D

The desert, in Yulin (China), was one place which inspired me greatly. It was truly amazing to write Situation No Win–set in some of the places I was then exploring–during my stay there. Coffee-shops also inspire me; especially if they are set on a corner and have a view of the sky. For me, that creates good writing chi 😀

3. What project are you most excited about right now?

It’s exciting to be relaunching Situation No Win. It’s a little nerve-wracking because I’m way behind schedule. I still have to redesign the cover and complete the new edit. I’m in two minds about this whole project because, while I love the story and believe it needs to be reintroduced to more readers, I still want to complete my other novel for the year, The Incident At Wolfe Creek, which also began as a NanoWriMo attempt.

4. Which authors are you currently hooked on? Any recommendations.

These past two months I haven’t been able to read as much as I’d like to, so I’m still in a historical fiction mood. I loved Millie Thom’s Shadow of the Raven and am looking forward to the rest of the series.
On my current TBR list are: A Love That Never Tires by Allyson Jeleyne, and Silent In The Grave by Deanna Raybourn; both of which look like they will satisfy my craving for an Elizabeth Peters style story.

5. If one of your books could be made into a movie, which one? And why?

Settle Down Now without a doubt. It’s fun, quirky, PG and set in some of my favourite scenic places–the North coast of Durban, Scotland, and the Indian Ocean. There’s lots of action and romance to satisfy everyone. I also think Charmaine and Rob speak to all of us who are flawed and coping with our situations the best we can.

 

m_Settle Down Now 10 low res

Find out more about Settle Down Now here: https://leennanaidoo.wordpress.com/whats-on-with-charmaine-and-rob/

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/373390

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/settle-down-now/id979315878?mt=11

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/settle-down-now

You can find Leenna on her blog: http://www.leennanaidoo.wordpress.com

Excerpt:

Nathan chuckled.

Gillian continued, “Just to give you an idea, Surf City, Nathan is being likened to a cross between Adonis and Charming Tantrum by our producer. Charmaine’s sitting across from me, her hair standing up on end more than ever, looking pale and nervous, like that girl at the dance who never gets noticed–Wallpaper Girl. What do you have to say to her, then Nate? You going to ask her to dance?”

The production assistant had materialised beside me with Joss’s note. ‘Speak! Ask him questions. Be interested. Remember what I taught you. Smile. And don’t screw this up. He’s utterly, gorgeously hot! And very photogenic.’ Thanks for nothing Joss. That’s exactly what I didn’t need to know.

“Of course I am, Mike. She’s the most interesting girl in the room.” Nathan chuckled again, sounding amazingly seductive for someone who claimed to have just come off a twelve hour shift on a stressful job.

“Well, Nate, what are you waiting for. Go talk to her!” commanded Gillian.

Nathan obeyed. “So, Charmaine. I know you don’t know me from Jack, but I’d really like to get to know you better. You seem genuine, down to earth and love dogs as much as I do. I think we have a lot more in common and I’d like to at least be friends.” Joss was jumping up and down in excitement. Nathan, it seemed was everyone’s dream come true.

There was an awkward silence. It took a second or two for me to realise that I was the one everyone was looking at. Gillian was gesticulating meaningfully to the forgotten sheet of prepared questions. “Er.., that sound’s great, Nathan. But do you mind if I ask you a few questions first?”

“Not at all, Charmaine. Shoot?”

“Great. Thanks. Erm…,” I scanned the sheet. ‘What would be your perfect date? Who is the person you admire the most? What is your biggest dream?’ And so the list went. Superficial, useless… “Erm, yes,” I decided to ad-lib, “So, Nathan, why did you break up with your last girlfriend?”

Leave a Reply

