Talking Upcoming Release: Dance of Love

Dance of Love is my 2nd book with Decadent Publishing. It came about when I entered one of Harlequin UK`s April Pitch competitions. I came in the Top 5, but sadly (then) didn`t get a full request and I have to add, I`m glad for that because at the time I didn`t have a full manuscript. I`d entered the competition on a whim thinking I had no fighting chance, so why not give my writing brain some exercise. I loved the story so much I completed it anyway and after having submitted Falling for Mr. Unexpected to DP, I decided to try with Dance of Love too. The rest as they say is history *smile* But today I wanted to ‘talk’ about a particular ‘scene’ in DoL. A scene inspired by a TV show and a group of girls I shared varsity digs with. I really couldn`t say what had made us do it. It was just so random, so spontaneous. But I think some or other female drama was going on in the flat ( what we loosely referred to as our ‘penthouse’), we`ve been in the kitchen/living area, on a Friday night (after a very hectic post-grad week for me), just catching up. I`d joined the group after  the weekly get-together had already started. Though I have to add, I wasn`t a weekly attendant here, my studies had turned me into a hermit most of the time. So I`m walking in on lively conversations, snacks, drinks etc. And basically an all-girl get-together. There`s some subtext going on, but I decided to ignore it. I honestly wouldn`t have even known what it was about, so I just spaced it out. As the evening went on certain things came to light, but again, I wasn`t part of it so I just spaced it out. Music was blaring and I was kind of surprised no one had come to tell us to shut up *laughs* Because we were loud, and not just music wise. Anyway, with all this going on, I noticed one of my flatmates had slipped away and I wondered where she could be. But I didn`t go investigate yet. Instead I soaked up the conversations around me, mellowed in the togetherness and letting off some steam. Then I headed to the bathroom, because you know short people with small bladders…need I say more? lol And after I head to my room to put some hand lotion on my hands (cause I`m fancy like that *wink*), something told me to go check on the flatmate who had disappeared earlier. The sound system was in her room, she`d acted as the ‘deejay’ although anyone who wanted to change the music could. And there she was, jumping up and down to a song. Just jumping in her own little world. And for some reason to me this looks like the most brilliant idea ever and I joined her. And the two of us was just dance jumping, enjoying the song, eyes closed to the world. Then the song changed and I opened my eyes and I saw some others had joined us and we just keep on jump-dancing. No one really caring what the other was doing, together in our mutual acceptance of the other`s solitude, while doing the exact same thing. This event made it into Dance of Love when Ashley has to confront a particularly vicious tabloid attack and none of them has a solution. The situation had become so ridiculous that to become mad and angry wouldn`t serve a purpose at all. So her flatmates Thandi and Meaghan starts jumping up and down and force her to do the same. This moment helps to centre her, to keep her mind off what had happened and also brings forth this image of her not being alone. That sometimes even in your ‘solitude’ there are people going through/doing the exact same thing you’re doing, and though you might feel like your on your own, you`re not. There are people willing to ‘jump’ with you, even though they don`t have all the answers and they can`t fix things for you. They`ll jump with you. In a way I think we were all in that moment, subconsciously tapping into the power that`s Shonda Rhimes and Grey`s Anatomy. All of us were fans of the show and I guess that`s what made it so easy for me to understand this concept. I didn`t ask her ‘why are you dance-jumping alone?’ I just knew she needed to and that she wouldn`t mind if I needed to, too. If only all things in life was that easy to understand, as Ashley also finds out in Dance of Love. Dance of Love releases 2 June 2015 Dance-of-Love_banner Blurb: All roads lead to Rome when Ashley Solomons embarks on fulfilling her dream to become a world-class dancer. But there’s one person who stands in her way. “It`s a no from me,” Antonio Machiavelli. When Antonio’s auditions for a lead principal end in wintry Cape Town, the last thing he expects is to have more than a knee-jerk reaction to an audition. Ashley not only verbally challenges him, but also translates her fire and cheekiness into an edge of your seat performance. Can Antonio keep his distance from Ashley? Can Ashley focus on fulfilling her dream of becoming a lead principal? Or will love have its way?

Leave a Reply

