Should a Bible-believing-Christian watch Noah?

noah_movie_poster_1

No you shouldn`t and here`s why. No one should have the power to convince you of what you should/shouldn`t do/watch in this case. What should move your actions and motivation should be God and the Holy Spirit.

Now that I`ve gotten that out of the way I`ll get on with my review of this movie since I watched it 🙂  And watched without knowing  1) The director is an atheist 2) Noah was (referencing the director) the most un-Christian Christian movie ever made.

Noah has the typical Hollywood big budget CGI feel, with a cast of actors you`ve loved in other movies, Russell Crowe ala Gladiator, to name one. Visually it ranks with one of the best adventure films and you`d want to see it on a big screen just for that. The story…well, that`s what it is, a completely fictional story. The movie starts of saying “in the beginning there`s nothing.”

Uh…everyone`s who`s read Genesis knows in the beginning there was something.

Anyway, let me get on with it.

Now before some of you go on and say, but that`s a minor detail and the director took ‘artistic licence’.  I have to ask you to consider this, what if someone took such licence with your life story? (Whatever that story might be) Authors get worked up when screenplay writers take ‘artistic licence’ with their books, imagine if it was their life stories? Yikes. I would not want to be in that room! lol

Since Noah`s clearly not around to defend himself, and the Bible wasn`t written with movie-makers in mind, I would say it`s up to Christian leaders and authorities (on theology) to defend the text.

I`m a writer which means I`m all for creativity. Right now I`m writing a New Adult with crossover potential called “Paradise Lost” (hopefully I`ll get to keep the title).  It`s basically about a female Nephilim on the run from a group of Fallen Angels called The Pride (*grin* see what I did there?). The Pride is in search of the Garden of Eden and believes she can lead them to it. Their main motivation for finding it, is to eat the fruit from the Tree of Life in order to gain access to Heaven.  Look even the chick thinks they`re nuts, but since they`re hunting her, she has no choice but to take them seriously.

The Nephilim were written about in Genesis, Sons of God had children with Daughters of Man. After the flood we didn`t hear about them again.  I`ve taken ‘artistic licence’ and created a completely fictional world where a group of Fallen Angels, who didn’t run around with Satan, and a Nephilim realm exists.

So I get it, believe me  I do. I understand the whole concept.

Where I do take up issue with ‘artistic licence’ is when directors, artists or writers do not categorically state, their work is loosely based on Biblical text, and therefore cannot be viewed as a true presentation of them. Don`t even say stuff like “we tried to stay as close to the text and we think we`ve done a pretty good job of doing blah blah blah…” You haven`t, plain and simple. The movie is not a Jewish or Christian movie, in fact it clearly set out to be everything but and that is what Bible believers should know. This is not Noah`s story, this a presentation (not interpretation) of someone`s creative ideas/beliefs written in the context of Noah`s life story.  Noah was merely used as a vessel for them.

noah2

I watched this movie not having read any critique about it, not one. I didn`t know what anyone was saying about it. I knew Russell Crowe and Emma Watson starred in it, that`s all. I had no clue who directed it. I knew I was going to have to take everything with a pinch of salt since it`s Hollywood again, but I didn`t realize how much until I watched the movie.  Fallen Angels who were giant rocks. A snake skin passed on through generations with magical, ala Harry Potter style (yes I went there), properties.  The sons of Noah`s age groups mixed up (Ham was the youngest not the middle child). I could have, in a very uncomfortable way, co-exited with these notions, after all it`s a movie. But the moment Darren Aronofsky went all tree-hugging Noah on me, I became annoyed.  So the flood wasn`t because Man was sinful and unholy in God`s sight, but because we cut off all the trees and ate animals raw in a very blood thirsty and savage way?

He lost me.

Again humanistic drivel.

Oh and I bet every woman went, “whaaat?!” When Noah said he`d kill the female baby but will let the male live.

*slaps forehead*

So Noah`s now a killer of babies as well as the rest of humanity? Yep, I got that too. *shaking head* Biblically Noah warned everyone, they didn`t listen. They saw Noah as, some view street corner preachers, a bit of an embarrassment especially when everything`s not going to work out as he professes it would.

No one took him seriously.

In the movie, Cain did. Who seemed to have been alive for a VERY long time, without even looking as decrepit as Noah`s grandfather.  (Oh and btw Adam and Eve had LOTS of kids.)

This version of Noah, I would not recommend for an immature audience (with that I mean you`ve either recently come to the faith or you`re too young to differentiate that this version is vastly different than the Sunday-school one).

This movie did what the director wanted it to do, have people think about the planet and how we treat it. Other than that, there`s nothing else but a Hollywood blockbuster adventure movie. Harsh, but true.

4 thoughts on “Should a Bible-believing-Christian watch Noah?

  1. I haven’t watched Noah… I assumed based on the trailer that it will be one of those unrealistic movies with voltron-like characters. I guess I was right, now that you mention fallen angels in the form of rocks. Oh dear!

    Unfortunately, as we move closer towards end times, the bible is being persecuted…but in a different way from what we probably expected. Movies, books, songs and even the internet are being used to sway us or should I rather say poke us, so we start to doubt what we’ve believed for decades. It’s the devil’s modus operandi because while having fun, many of us can’t be bothered with the facts.

    The Davinci code caused a raucus; I went to watch it anyway. Jesus may or may not have been married. OK…how does it change anything? God’s first command to Adam and Eve was ‘be fruitful and multiply’, doesn’t mean people who get married and have kids are unholy. Yea, Dan Brown probably didn’t see anyone thinking of it that way. A little boy apparently went to heaven while under anaesthesia for surgery, he woke up and said Jesus looks like an Arab, not a white man. Everyone went ballistic on him; again, I had to ask… Does it matter? Jesus answers prayers! Whether he’s green or blue is nonsensical to fight over. I read Messiah’s secret, which I think is the biggest attack on Christianity yet. This book suggests that Jesus’ body was stolen out of the tomb and taken miles away to India, where Jesus had lived for about 17 years. The book suggests Jesus was buried next to Prophet Mohamed. My response? What’s the proof?

    I agree with you; new-born christians, and impressionable children should not watch or read such things. However, we strong Christians should know we’re not battling against mere atheists. A movie like Noah should not be taken seriously for any reason at all! For one, I doubt fallen angels kids were made of rocks. The part of Noah being sexist, killing children and hugging trees… Well, it shows the writers had no good leg to stand on with their version of the story and had to work hard to turn things upside down.

    I’m very glad you wrote this review Inge. People will most likely read it before they see the movie (if they’re like me) and lose all interest in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Demi and I`m so with you on all of this. In high school I started to become fascinated (and still am) with archaeology. I watched documentaries, read texts and of course also came across people claiming to have found Jesus’s buried body. It was all very intriguing but even then, as someone who hadn`t received Christ yet, I simply didn`t believe it. To me it was nothing but fiction, because if there`s one thing I knew, it was, there is definitely a God and He wouldn`t like us making up stories about Him.

      This movie refers to God as The Creator, which is Biblically sound, since no one had a name for god yet, but where it sticks to such accuracy, it drops the ball on major ones, because Aronofsky is not making a Christian movie. He`s pushing a view point a lot of liberalists are going to latch onto inside and outside of the church.

      I think that`s what got most people up in arms with Dan Brown, he was selling an idea whether he wanted to admit it or not. He was saying, “Look I know what you believe in, but what if it happened like this? Then how would you view life?” Similar to John Lennon and his “imagine all the people…” *smh* there`s so many things wrong with that song it aint even funny. Nice tune, but again it`s pushing an idea that`s anti-God and pro humans beings savings themselves.

      Many storytellers have an agenda, this includes movie-makers too, people should be aware of that and not just go sit back, relax and let yourself be brainwashed for entertainments-sake. I`m sorry but I haven`t bought into that fast-food-drive-by take on life yet 😉

      Like

      1. What really made me laugh with Dan Brown was the last supper painting-a painting, not a photograph. Christians must be sensitive to these things, and stand firm in faith. This world we see was not created by evolution! There’s a God! What irks me these days is Christians let these things happen without putting up a fight. No movie director or screenwriter would dare write such nonsense about Prophet Muhammed.

        Like

      2. Which also tells us something, a prophet is placed on a god-like pedestal whereas the Son of the Living God, is what? Scorned. And God, Himself, reduced to a silent malevolent figure. I was so surprised when I read Aronofsky`s from Jewish descent. I was like, “ooh the bus is going to hit him so hard when it comes, because oh it`s coming.” LoL

        And I forgot to say, I haven’t watched the movies or read the books. I did read a Deon Meyer book, an Afrikaans/English author, who poked fun at the series. I can`t remember the title now, but it had me in stitches! Became a Deon Meyer fan.

        Like

Leave a Reply

