“A real husband is so 1999, so hard for a girl to find…”

“A real husband is so 1999, so hard for a girl to find…A gentleman is so 1995, so hard for a girl to find.”

That`s not me saying it, that`s lyrics to a song from The Saturdays. And while I`m sitting, contemplating what to write for a blog entry, it starts playing on TV. Immediately my head went to a friend`s status update on Facebook, that since she`s in her thirties the best she could do is a divorce with three kids. But even then chances are slim because older men (40+) want twenty-something`s and since she doesn`t make bucket loads of money, she can`t be a sugar-momma, what some know as Cougars.

Now in my opinion when you`re in your early thirties it`s way too early to be stressing about your shelf -life and whether you have to become content with the thought of ending up with a man ten years younger than you ala Demi Moore (can we all just take a moment of silence and bow our heads for that failed unequally yoked marriage).

Two of The Saturdays are actually happily married and yet they sing this song with such conviction. The music video`s all bubbly and happy, such a contrast to the lyrics. Women dressed and looking fabulous, doing house work. Yeah looks like a ‘real housewife’ is also hard to find *ha ha ha*

But honestly, what`s the obsession with age, time and ‘real’ husbands being hard to find…oh let me not add it, but I have to …gentleman. Are they a dying breed?

*check check* Are anyone out there? *endless void* *voice echoes*

Now if you thought this was going to be a solution…then you`re wrong *snort* What I will say is this, what a real husband is…is up to you…what a real gentleman is…is of course up to him…but I`ll be damned if I have to send out a search party, bend the space time continuum just to find one.

My main issue with those lyrics is me having to find anyone…what am I? A search party? Do I look (yes go look at my picture again) like someone who does bundu-bashing on a regular basis? Uh…no.

And I guess that`s the reason why the heroines in my books are so feisty and cheeky and NEVER chasing after some guy…and yes I know there are women who do that. I like to think they are the ones with that ‘killer instinct’. The hunters of the female pack.  And good for you! Go hunt and gather like you were supposed to?

*ha*

“A real husband is so 1999, so hard for a girl to find…” maybe that`s the problem girl, while you`re out there ‘finding’, searching, you just missed him *raised eyebrow*

I can feel a new book idea coming on…

IMG-20130918-00169

5 thoughts on ““A real husband is so 1999, so hard for a girl to find…”

    1. Thank you Demi! Especially for the reblog!…lol I don`t know if I`m a fountain of wisdom on this subject…but when the thought strikes I will definitely throw in my two cents *wink* Thanks again Demi!

      Like

Leave a Reply

